EXCLUSIVE: See the cover of Where I Live by Brenda Rufener!

2

It’s our favorite time – cover reveal time! Are you a contemporary fan looking for something to add to your 2018 to-read list? Try Where I Live by Brenda Rufener! Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven and Nicola Yoon, Rufener’s stirring YA debut tells the story of a homeless teen secretly living in her high school.

A girl with her back to the camera stands in the middle of a long row of blue high school lockers; she is illuminated by a doorway shaped like a house.

Linden Rose has her own rules – rules that guarantee no one discovers that she’s homeless and living in the halls of her small-town high school. Her best friends, Ham and Seung, have formed a makeshift family, and writing for her school’s blog prevents downtime. When you’re homeless, free time sucks. Despite everything Linden’s burdened with, she holds on to hope for a future and a maybe romance with Seung.

But when cool-girl Bea comes to school with a bloody lip, the damage hits too close to home. Linden begins looking at Bea’s life, and soon her investigation prompts people to pay attention. And attention is the last thing Linden needs.

To put a stop to the violence, Linden must tell the story. Even if it breaks her rules for survival and jeopardizes the secrets she’s worked so hard to keep.

“In Where I Live, the main character is a homeless teen living by a set of survival rules she designed to help her hide in plain sight,” said Refener. “While the story is a work of fiction, I could not have written this book without remembering the financial struggles and housing insecurity I faced as a teen. These memories prompted questions that helped me write this coming-of-age tale of hope over adversity. What happens when you lose everything? How do you survive when you have nothing? Are we all just one step away from living homeless?”

Joel Tippie, known for his work on the Divergent series, designed the jacket. David Curtis created the jacket art.

“I am so grateful for the design by Joel and David. They blew me away with their ability to capture the very essence of Linden’s story and give us a glimpse at where Linden lives. I’m so honored to have Harper’s design team work on this book.”

Where I Live releases from HarperTeen on February 27, 2018.

Like cover reveals? Take a peek at Ash Poston’s Heart of Iron!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.

Share.

About Author

YA Interrobang

YA Interrobang is your source for all things YA literature. Want to work with us? Have a cover reveal or excerpt you’d like to host? Have a piece of news you’d like to share? Email our editor Nicole at nicole@yainterrobang.com.

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: EXCLUSIVE: See the cover of The Way The Light Bends by Cordelia Jensen! - YA Interrobang