List of the Week: For Fans of SIX OF CROWS + Leigh Bardugo’s recommendations

27

A word from Leigh Bardugo:

six of crows blog tour
First, a big thank you to the crew at YA Interrobang for being a part of the Six of Crows blog tour! Okay, so I’ll confess that I wasn’t totally sure about the exact nature of “companion reads.” Are they books similar in tone or content to the book you’re reading? Or are they books you want to read alongside your current read? If it’s the former, I’m just going to take this moment to recommend Holly Black’s Curse Workers trilogy. Yeah, yeah, Holly blurbed Six of Crows. But before I ever met her, I met Cassel and fell in love with the magical mafia at work in White Cat. It’s not a lot like Six of Crows, but it’s one of my favorite YA series, and it’s full of cons and shady business.

Now, if we’re talking about books to read alongside Six of Crows, I have to tell you, I’m a book monogamist. Unless I’m in research mode, it’s very rare that I read more than one book at a time. But if you happen to want to dip your toe into some of the books that inspired the world of Six of Crows, you might try The Money and the Power: The Making of Las Vegas and Its Hold on America, Stealing Rembrandts: The Untold Stories of Notorious Art Heists, and of course The Big Con: The Story of the Confidence Man. If you’d like some insight into the history of Amsterdam which was most definitely a strong influence on Ketterdam, there’s Amsterdam: A History of the World’s Most Liberal City and An Embarrassment of Riches: An Interpretation of Dutch Cuture in the Golden Age.

Author Leigh Bardugo. Photo by Taili Song Roth

Author Leigh Bardugo. Photo by Taili Song Roth

You know, the more I write these titles out, the less I think anyone is going to go pick them up. Just go read White Cat and then enjoy all the rompy twists and turns of Ally Carter’s Heist Society series.


What’s on our list this week? Books for fans of Six of Crows! To celebrate the upcoming release of Leigh Bardugo’s magical new book – set in the same world as her Grisha series – we concocted a list of companion reads for Six of Crows. For us, that means books to read if you liked this book.

Or, in this case, books to read depending on which character was your favorite.

FOR FANS OF INEJ

thief's covenant ari marmellThief’s Covenant (Widdershins Adventures #1) by Ari Marmell
Publisher: Pyr
Why: Badass lady thieves with a deep respect for their gods
Once, she was Adrienne Satti, but now, she is Widdershins, a ruthless thief with a god living in her head. As the city turns against her and her past begins to haunt her, Widdershins searches for answers to the tragedy that took her life from her – and justice against those who wronged her.

FOR FANS OF JESPER

circle of magic briar's book tamora pierceBriar’s Book (Circle of Magic #4) by Tamora Pierce
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Why: Thieves bad with money and excellent with their chosen weapons.
Briar’s gone from street rat to a mage-in-raining, comfortable learning plant magic at the Winding Circle Temple. But when one of his childhood friends get sick, she turns to Briar for help.

FOR FANS OF NINA

the winner's curse marie rutkoskiThe Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1) by Marie Rutkoski
Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux
Why: Powerful ladies who betray men they love for political reasons
When Kestrel buys Arin on a whim, she doesn’t expect to fall for the slave – or for her to be thrust in the heart of a political revolution.

FOR FANS OF MATTHIAS

illuminae amie kaufman jay kristoffIlluminae (Illuminae Files #1) by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Why: Boys whose ex-girlfriends are capable of saving their world
Exes Kady and Ezra find themselves working together when their planet gets invaded. They’re forced onto two separate spaceships, whose crews are hiding secrets from those on board – secrets they’re determined to uncover.

FOR FANS OF KAZ

the walls around us nova ren sumaThe Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma
Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers
Why: Characters willing to do whatever it takes to get what they want
Violet is a dancer days away from achieving her dreams. Amber has been locked up in jail so long she can’t imagine freedom. And Orianna? Orianna ties their stories together.

FOR FANS OF WYLAN – THE YOUNG ELITES

the young elites marie luThe Young Elites (The Young Elites #1) by Marie Lu
Publisher: Putnam Juvenile
Why: Aristocrats who leave their families and join a group of rebels
Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever and is left with strange markings. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts.

list of the week for fans of six of crowsWhat books would you add to the list? Sound off in the comments below!

Want more Six of Crow readalongs? Visit our friends at Mugglenet, who are posting a similar list on their site today as part of the Six of Crows tour!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.

Share.

About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

27 Comments

  1. The only book I have read up there is The Winner’s Curse; so I have a lot of reading to do. I can’t wait to read the Six of Crows. 😉
    caliwillette(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I fully support Wylan reading The Young Elites. It was such a good book and Alina isn’t your typical heroine. I think Wylan would love this book a lot since it seems we have the same taste in books. I’m excited to learn more about him when I get to read Six of Crows!

  3. LOVE your recommendations ^_^ (do you ever have a moment of complete agreement that you can’t really add anything to the conversation?? You just point at the person spouting truth and emphatically declare, “YES!” because that’s how I feel about this post). Also I really need to pick up Illuminae, and I can’t wait to read Matthias. I MUST READ A STORY ABOUT EX GIRLFRIENDS SAVING WORLDS.

    But anyways, I don’t know what book I would add to this list, but for the collective Six of Crows, I’d say they remind me of the crew on Firefly. From what I’ve read in reviews and posts like this, Kaz and the gang remind me of Mal and his gorram misfits.

  4. Why am I not surprised that one of my favorite books is paired with Nina? I absolutely love her so much.

  5. According to the book pairings, I think I gonna fall in love with Kaz and Nina the most. Their books I loved.
    I do have White Cat on my shelf waiting to-be-read, so after I get a hold of Six of Crows, I’ll have to jump on that.
    Thief Covenant also sounds interesting. I’ve never heard of it; will be looking more into it.

  6. I love this list, because I love these characters soooo much! I have read The Young Elites, and The Winner’s Curse and absolutely loved them both. They were so good. These are some great picks and I’m going to have to check them out! Especially the books you picked for Inej and Kaz!

  7. I’ve read (and loved) all of them except for the Tamora Pierce one, so I should probably give that one a go! The Widdershins Adventures series is so under appreciated, so I’m glad it’s on here ^_^

  8. I’ve only read Illuminae and the Winner’s Curse,but on the quiz to see which member of Kaz’s crew you’re most like, I got Nina so this proves it’s accuracy 🙂 I wish there was a member of the 6 of Crows who’d like The Madman’s Daughter. So exvited for 6 of Crows!

  9. Awesome! Matthias is matched with Illuminae which I have waiting in the wings to read! I’m feeling chemistry with that character 😉

  10. Good recommendations! I’m certainly adding some myself. Mmm I think for fans of Kaz the series of A Son of Ice and Fire by George R.R. Martin would be something to add to their lists.

  11. I’ve only read The Young Elites, and love it. I have heard a lot about the other books, can’t wait to read them. Or to read, Six of Crows and see if a agree with your pairing! This is a great post, enjoyed!

  12. Ahh! This post is so awesome Nicole 😀 Thank you oh so much for sharing. <3 You are awesome. I adore Leigh. And her previous books. I simply cannot wait to read Six of Crows this week 😀 Been waiting forever. <3 And eeek. I love all of these recs for sort of similar books 😀 I loved a bunch of them. Like Illuminae. <3 Ugh. I cannot wait to get to know all these characters from Six of Crows 🙂 So excited. Stunning post 🙂

  13. I haven’t read Six of Crows yet, but based on the book choices I am thinking I would really like Kaz, Wylan, and Matthias. Illuminae, The Young Elites, and The Walls Around Us are phenomenal.

  14. So happy to see The Walls Around Us by Nova Ren Suma and The Young Elites by Marie Lu to who it’s compare to since I’m reading Six of Crows and happily to agree it’s true. I have a need to read the rest of the list of the books too.

  15. Ive read Young Elites but Illumintate sounds interesting! Ugh! These characters sound awesome!

  16. I havent yet read Six of Crow so I wouldnt know but most of these books are on my tbr. And I love that the recommendations were based on characters.

  17. Great list! I’ve only read The Winner’s Curse, but I can’t wait to read the others, especially Illuminae! Great list!

  18. I’m definitely going to have to read ‘The Walls Around Us’ now since I’m a Kaz fan!! 🙂 Great book choices!