Gemina wins for best YA at the Aurelias Awards.


Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s Gemina won the 2017 Aurealis Award for Best Science Fiction Novel. Kaufman expressed her happiness on Instagram.

In Gemina, the second book in the Illuminae Files series, Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion. When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner.

The Aurealis Awards were created to honor Australia’s science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. Adult, young adult and children fiction are all recognized in the award’s various categories.

For more on Kaufman, visit her website or follow her on Twitter. For more on Kristoff, visit his website or follow him on Twitter.


Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Alison Ng

Alison lives in the NYC area, works in book publishing and really, really likes food.

Comments are closed.