NBF Lifetime Achievement Award honors Ursula K. Le Guin


According to Publisher’s Weekly, the National Book Foundation plans to present Ursula K. Le Guin with the 2014 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. Neil Gaiman will present Guin the award on November 19th, 2014, at the 65th National Book Awards Ceremony in New York City.

“Ursula Le Guin has had an extraordinary impact on several generations of readers and, particularly, writers in the United States and around the world. She has shown how great writing will obliterate the antiquated—and never really valid—line between popular and literary art. Her influence will be felt for decades to come,” said Harold Augenbraum, the Foundation’s executive director.

Guin is the 27th recipient of this prestigious award. She wrote the Earthsea Cycle and the Hainish Cycle, among other children’s and young adult novels.

For more on Guin, visit her website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Lauren Byrnes

Lauren is a college student working towards a degree in history and education. She writes a little and reads a lot. In addition to the YA world, her interests include historical nonfiction, showtunes, coffee, gender studies, and red lipstick.

Comments are closed.