5 quotes I love from Roshani Chokshi’s THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN

0

the star touched queen roshani chokshiYesterday, one of the debut novels I loved most this year hits shelves: The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. Perfect for fans of Rosamund Hodge and inspired by Indian mythology, The Star-Touched Queen takes place in a world where the stars foretold Maya’s future: death and destruction. When she marries Amar and becomes queen of Akaran, she thinks destiny could change. But Amar is hiding secrets, and as Maya’s distrust grows stronger, her actions could tear apart the worlds as they know them.

I had the honor of featuring Chokshi on the site last week, but to celebrate yesterday’s release of The Star-Touched Queen, I’m sharing five of my favorite quotes with you!

As chaos unfolds around Maya in the beginning of The Star-Touched Queen, a mysterious man appears and offers her his hand in marriage. He doesn’t think her a pretty trinket to be passed between the kingdoms like a horse, but somebody worthy of ruling in their own right.

the star touched queen quote 02 needs a queen roshani chokshi

“My kingdom needs a queen,” he said. “It needs someone with fury in her heart and shadows in her smile. It needs someone ruthless and clever. It needs you.”

He woos her not with pretty words, but with promises of power and prosperity. And aren’t his promises gorgeous?

the star touched queen quote 01 constellations roshani chokshi

“I make this bond to you in blood, not flowers,” he said. “Come with me and you shall be an empress with the moon for your throne and constellations to wear in your hair. Come with me and I promise you that we will always be equals.”

Together, they journey off to his kingdom – their kingdom – and Maya observes the world changing around them.

the star touched queen quote 03 trees roshani chokshi

Trees like cursive script stretched above dark plots of earth, entwining against pale beams of ivy and sprouting flowers that turned their heads to watch us pass.

In arguably my favorite moment of the story, they arrive at the Night Bazaar, a place where all sorts of creatures come together to gossip and shop and thrive. Add this place to one of my dream fictional vacation spots.

the star touched queen quote 04 night bazaar roshani chokshi

The Night Bazaar unfurled before us in a spectrum of color and life. Carts bearing persimmons and custard apples weaved between the crowds. Stores hopped across streets to greet likely customers. Other shops shrank to the size of thimbles, fit only for the clientele no wider than a mouse. The Night Bazaar was filled with the sound of reedy flutes and the rill of haggling tongues.

Once they arrive at the kingdom, Maya begins to unravel truths about her mysterious new husband, and truths about the kingdom she’s been sucked into. Whether she will live up to the queen she envisioned for herself – and that her husband saw in her – well, you’ll just have to read to find out.

the star touched queen quote 05 thunderstorms roshani chokshi

“The truth,” said Amar, taking a step closer to me, “is that you look neither lovely nor demure. You look like edges and thunderstorms. And I would not have you any other way.”

The Star-Touched Queen released yesterday from St. Martin’s Griffin. For more on Roshani Chokshi, visit her website or follow her on Twitter.

All quotes above are pulled from the advance reader’s copy and may be tweaked in the hardcover edition.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.

Share.

About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.