SCORPION RULES wins Monica Hughes Award


the scorpion rules erin bowErin Bow’s The Scorpion Rules won the 2016 Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy.

In The Scorpion Rules, the Children of Peace – sons and daughters of kings and presidents and generals – are raised together and are taught to accept what may well be their fate: to die if their countries declare war.

The Monica Hughes Award for Science Fiction and Fantasy, established in 2011, honors excellence in Science Fiction and Fantasy writing for children and adolescents.To be eligible, the book must be an original work in English, aimed at readers ages eight to 18 and written by a Canadian or a Permanent Resident of Canada. Bow won the award previously in 2014 for Sorrow’s Knot.

The Scorpion Rules is available now.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.