SCBWI names 2014 Spark Award winners


melt selene castrovillaThe Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) announced their 2014 Spark Award winners.  The 2014 winners for older readers are The Men Who Made The Yankees by W. Nikola-Lisa and Melt by Selene Castrovilla.

The Men Who Made the Yankees is a nonfiction YA novel that follows the New York Yankees baseball team in the mid-1890s to their first World Series championship in 1923. Melt, set against the backdrop of the Wizard of Oz, follows Dorothy as she moves to Highland Park and falls for bad boy Joey.

The Spark Awards celebrate independently-published writers and illustrators with excellent children’s books. For more, visit the SCBWI website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.