Rowell wins 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award


eleanor and park rainbow rowellThe Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) announced the winner of the 2014 Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award. Established in 2008 to honor the wishes of author Amelia Walden, ALAN awards $5000 to an author whose young adult book reflects a positive approach to life, is well-liked by teens, and has literary merit.

This year’s winner is Rainbow Rowell for Eleanor and Park. Eleanor and Park tells the story of a first love between two star-crossed misfits in Omaha, Nebraska in 1986.
Other finalists for the award included Jumped In by Patrick Flores-Scott, The Milk of Birds by Sylvia Whitman, Openly Straight by Bill Konigsberg, and Winger by Andrew Scott.
The winner and the finalists will be formally announced at the 2014 ALAN Workshop on November 24th in Washington, D.C. For more, visit ALAN’s website.
Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Lauren Byrnes

Lauren is a college student working towards a degree in history and education. She writes a little and reads a lot. In addition to the YA world, her interests include historical nonfiction, showtunes, coffee, gender studies, and red lipstick.

Comments are closed.