MTV announces Fandom Award winners


the hunger games suzanne collinsMTV held a fandom award competition this year, with the winners voted on by fans in a bracket competition. This year, The Hunger Games won the best fandom of the year award, beating the fandoms of “Teen Wolf” and “Orange is the New Black,” among others.

The Hunger Games is a book series by Suzanne Collins that was recently adapted into a blockbuster series of films. It follows Katniss, a girl who volunteers to take her sister’s place in an annual fight called The Hunger Games, and whose friendship with a young girl named Rue inadvertently sparks a revolution.

The “Feels Freak Out of the Year” award went to the TV show adaptation of Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series. Though the series differentiates wildly from the book series, the Pretty Little Liars fandom is huge, and the “who is Charles?” plotline won out against the season finale of “Game of Thrones” and Nina Dobrev’s decision to leave the TV adaptation of the Vampire Diaries series.

The Twilight saga won the Best Fandom Forever category, beating out “Friends” and “Star Wars.” The Twilight saga was a first a book series by Stephenie Meyer before being adapted into blockbuster films staring Kristen Stewart. They follow Bella, a teenage girl who stumbles into a romance with an immortal vampire named Edward.

Which book fandom is your favorite? Sound off in the comments below!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.