Jaclyn Moriarty wins 2015 Ethel Turner prize


cracks in the kingdom jaclyn moriartyJaclyn Moriarty’s The Cracks in the Kingdom took home the 2015 Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature.

The Cracks in the Kingdom follows Princess Ko, who is running her Kingdom after her family falls through the Cracks. With war on the horizon, she gathers a group of teens to help find her family, including a boy named Ellio. Ellio has been writing secret letters to Girl-in-the-World Madeliene, whose help the Kingdom will need to find the missing royals.

“Whilst many beautifully written and well crafted novels were submitted in the young adult category, several factors set The Cracks in the Kingdom apart, making it a clear and unanimous choice as the winner,” wrote the judges on the official Ethel Turner Prize page. “Perhaps the most significant feature, and upon which one which all three judges commented, was the seamless interweaving of fantastic and realistic elements to not simply allow, but actively encourage readers to willingly suspend their disbelief, and to fall into this exquisitely drawn world.”

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature honors excellent works published between October 1, 2013 and September 30, 2014 by writers who live or have permanent residency in Australia. The shortlist for the award included K.A. Barker’s Book of Days, Jackie French’s The Road to Gundagai, Darren Groth’s Are You Seeing Me?, Justine Larbalestier’s Razorhurst and Clare Strahan’s Cracked.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.