CRACKS IN THE KINGDOM wins best YA at 2014 Aurealis Awards


cracks in the kingdom jaclyn moriartyJaclyn Moriarty’s The Cracks in the Kingdom was named the Best Young Adult Novel at the 2014 Aurealis Awards.

The book follows Princess Ko as she tries to find the kingdom’s missing royals, one of which includes her father. To do so, she gathers teens with special abilities in order to crack the case. But, sparks fly between her and Elliot Baranski, the Chief heartthrob of the group, as the two work together to bring the missing home.

While nominations across the categories included a mix of books from different genres, other young adult winners include Razorhurst by Justine Larbalestier for Best Horror Novel; Kaleidoscope: Diverse YA Science Fiction and Fantasy Stories, edited by Alisa Krasnostein and Julia Rios, for Best Anthology; and “Vanilla” by Dirk Flinthart for Best Young Adult Short Story.

The 2014 Aurealis Awards winners were announced on April 11th in Canberra, Australia. The Awards, established in 1995 by Chimaera Publications, acknowledge the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

For more, visit the Aurealis Awards page.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Alison Ng

Alison lives in the NYC area, works in book publishing and really, really likes food.

Comments are closed.