CILIP Carnegie Medal announces 2016 nominees


cilip carnegie medal nomineethe last leaves falling sarah benwellThe CILIP Carnegie Medal announced its list of nominees for the 2016 awards season. While open to books across all age categories for children, numerous young adult novels scored nominations.

The Carnegie Medal, established in 1936, honors the writer of an outstanding book for children. It is awarded by the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.

The young adult nominees for the CILIP Carnegie Medal include Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda, Sarah Benwell’s The Last Leaves Falling, Sarah Crossan’s One, Amy Ewing’s The Jewel, Gayle Forman’s I Was Here, Patrick Ness’ The Rest of Us Just Live Here,  Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places, Garth Nix’s Clariel, Terry Pratchett’s The Shepherd’s Crown, Melinda Salisbury’s The Sin Eater’s Daughter, and Robin Talley’s Lies We Tell Ourselves, among others. The full list can be seen at the CILIP website.

Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell’s The Sleeper and the Spindle was nominated for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal. The Greenaway Medal, established in 1955, honors outstanding illustration in a children’s book.

Who do you think should win? Sound off in the comments below!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

1 Comment