Aurealis Award winners announced


these broken stars amie kaufman meagan spoonerThe winners of the 2013 Aurealis Awards were announced earlier this month.  The Aurealis Awards were established in 1995 to celebrate the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.  This year’s award for Best Young Adult Novel was a tie between These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, and Fairytales for Wilde Girls by Allyse Near.  The award for Best Young Adult Short Fiction was awarded to By Bone-light by Juliet Marillier.

These Broken Stars is the first novel in a new science-fiction trilogy from Australian author Amie Kaufman and American author Meagan Spooner.  When the luxury spaceliner Icarus crashes, the only two survivors – a high society girl and a soldier – must find a way to survive on a strange uninhabited planet.

Fairytales for Wilde Girls, which also snapped up the award for Best Horror Novel is author Allyse Near’s debut novel.  Isola Wilde, a young girl surrounded by magical creatures, must uncover the truth behind a dead girl’s demise and appease her enraged spirit.

To view the full list of winners, visit the Aurealis Awards website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Lucy Nisbet

Lucy is an English teacher-in-training and a self-confessed book nerd. She often buys more books than she can reasonably afford or possibly have time to read. Her Hogwarts letter is now several years too late, but she’s sure it’s just gotten lost in the post.

Comments are closed.