Alexandra Bracken announces new Darkest Minds novella


in the afterlight alexandra brackenAlexandra Bracken announced a new novella in her Darkest Minds series. Sparks Rise will take place between Never Fade and the final book in the trilogy, In The Afterlight.

Sparks Rise follows Sam in the Thurman rehabilitation camp. While in the camp Sam recognizes Lucas, a boy from her past who managed to beat the training that should have left him brainwashed. When Sam finds herself in trouble after fighting back, Lucas steps in to try and save her.

The novella is available on September 2 for $0.99 and includes the first chapter of In The Afterlight, which comes out October 28.

In a Tumblr post announcing the novella, Bracken explained that the “Hero of Another Story” trope is one of her favorites, which led to switching the point of views from Ruby, the main character of the series, to Sam and Lucas for the novella. Bracken stressed that while Sparks Rise comes between Never Fade and In The Afterlight, readers do not have to read the novella before reading the final book in the trilogy.

For more on Bracken, follow her on Tumblr, Facebook or Twitter.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Lindsay Paige

Lindsay lives in Brooklyn and is better at describing fictional people than herself. She spends her days as a reporter, but dreams of the day she can use her Creative Writing degree a bit more than her Journalism degree.

Comments are closed.