ALA announces 2014 Youth Media Award Winners


The American Library Association held its midwinter meeting in Philadelphia on January 27th. Dozens of librarians came together to announce the top books, video and audio books for children and young adults.

The prestigious Michael L. Printz award for excellence in Young Adult fiction was awarded to Midwinterblood, written by Marcus Sedgwick. The four Printz Honor books were also named: Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park, Susann Cokal’s Kingdom of Little Wounds, Sally Gardner’s Maggot Moon, and Clare Vanderpool’s Navigating Early.

Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor & Park also took home an honors award in the Odyssey category for best audiobooks produced.

The Margaret A. Edwards award for lifetime achievement in young adult literature was presented to Markus Zusak, author of multiple bestselling novels such as The Book Thief and I Am The Messenger.

The Stonewall Book Award is given annually to works of merit for children and teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience. The ALA chose Beautiful Music for Ugly Children by Kirstin Cronn Mills and Fat Angie by e. E. Charlton-Trujillo as its recipients. Three Honor Books were selected: Tim Federle’s Better Nate Than Ever, Ken Setterington’s Branded by the Pink Triangle, and David Levithan’s Two Boys Kissing.

Stephanie Keuhn’s Charm & Strange won the William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time YA author. Four other books were finalists for the award: Sex & Violence by Carrie Mesrobian, Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos, Belle Epoque by Elizabeth Ross, and In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters.

Finally, the Alex Awards went to the top ten best adult books that appeal to teen audiences and included:

  1.   Brewster by Mark Slouka
  2.   The Death of Bees by Lisa O’Donnell
  3.   Golden Boy: A Novel by Abigail Tarttelin
  4.   Help For The Haunted by Jon Searles
  5.   Lexicon: A Novel by Max Barry
  6.   Lives of Tao by Wesley Chu
  7.   Mother, Mother: A Novel by Koren Zailckas
  8.   Relish by Lucy Knisley
  9.   The Sea of Tranquility: A Novel by Katja Millay
  10.   The Universe Versus Alex Woods by Gavin Extencese

To check out all the awards and information, visit the ALA website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Alejandra De La Fuente

Alejandra de la Fuente is a writer for YA Interrobang.

Comments are closed.