Cassandra Clare announces adult Magnus Bane series


Cassandra Clare’s Shadowhunters empire spans three YA series, a movie, and an ongoing TV show adaptation. That empire will spread into the adult world in November 2017, when Clare releases the first book in her new series following fan-favorite character Magnus Bane.

Published by Simon & Schuster’s Saga Press imprint, Clare and her co-writer Wesley Chu (author of Time Salvager) promised dark and romantic times for the warlock in the first of the new trilogy – though, of course, Clare can always expand on the series later.

“I am so excited to contribute to the world that Cassandra Clare has created,” said Chu in a press release. “These books and characters are iconic, and Magnus is a fan favorite. I can’t wait to give them all the things they deserve. And probably a few they don’t. Sorry, Magnus.”

For fans who can’t wait for the adult Magnus Bane series, they can tide themselves over by reading Lady Midnight, the first in Clare’s new Dark Artifices series set in the Shadowhunters world. In Lady Midnight, Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter, and the best in her generation. She lives for battle. Shoulder to shoulder with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols the streets of Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries—the most powerful of supernatural creatures—teeter on the edge of open war with Shadowhunters. When the bodies of humans and faeries turn up an uneasy alliance is formed.

Lady Midnight is available now.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.