the anatomical shape of a heart jenn bennettThe Romance Writers of America announced the winners of the 2016 RITA Awards on July 16. The award honors the best published romance novels and novellas.

Jenn Bennett’s The Anatomical Shape of a Heart, which released last November from Macmillan’s Feiwel & Friends, won the RITA Award for best Young Adult Romance. The Anatomical Shape of a Heart follows a romance between Beatrix Adams, a student trying to win a scholarship, and Jack, one of San Francisco’s most infamous graffiti artists.

The Anatomical Shape of a Heart beat out Charlie N. Holmberg’s Followed by Frost, Abigail Strom’s Rikki, and C.C. Hunter’s Unspoken.

Pintip Dunn’s Forget Tomorrow, which released last November from Entangled Publishing: Teen, took home the win for Best First Book. Forget Tomorrow follows Callie who is eagerly anticipating her vision – a memory sent back in time from her future self. But the vision isn’t at all what Callie had hoped and it sets her down a path to save not only herself, but her sister as well.

Forget Tomorrow beat out Marnee Blake’s Altered, Scarlett Cole’s The Strongest Steel, and Kristi Ann Hunter’s A Noble Masquerade.

The RWA also announced the winners of their Golden Heart awards which honor the best of unpublished manuscripts. Meg Kassel’s “The Beekeeper” won for the young adult category.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Tara Hackley

Tara is a twenty-something with a love of writing, animals, and life. She's usually reading or writing but if she's not, she's out finding her next great adventure.

Comments are closed.