ABA announces 2016 Indies Choice award nominees


more happy than not adam silveraThe American Booksellers Association (ABA) announced the nominees for their 2016 awards season.

The nominees for best young adult book of the year are Anna and the Swallow Man by Gabriel Savit, Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy, More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera, Nimona by Noelle Stevenson, Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli, and Symphony for the City of the Dead by M.T. Anderson.

In Gabriel Savit’s Anna and the Swallow Man, it’s Kraków, 1939. A million soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father. And then Anna meets the Swallow Man.

In Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’, self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean has always been at home in her own skin. When she starts to doubt herself she sets out to take back her confidence by entering a beauty pageant.

In Adam Silvera’s More Happy Than Not, since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona follows a shapeshifting teen girl named Nimona in a medieval-meets-modern world, where knights use cellphones, swords and hoverboards. She teams up with the evil Lord Ballister Blackheart to take down a group called the Corporation.

Not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers his drama in the school musical in Becky Albertalli’s Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda. When an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is being blackmailed, and the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he emails, could be compromised.

In M.T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead, Anderson recounts the live of composer Dmitri Shostakovich while he lived in Leningrad during Hitler’s regime.

Each book nominates is a book championed by an indie bookseller. Independent booksellers will be able to vote on the nominees until April 6. The winners will be announced on May 12 at BookExpo America.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.