2016 Harvey Awards announce nominees


ms marvel g willow wilsonThe Harvey Award Nominees announced their 2016 nominees. Named in honor of Harvey Kurtzman, these awards recognize outstanding work in comics and graphic art.

Several YA titles are up for nomination this year.

Lumberjanes is nominated for Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers. Created by Shannon Waters, Grace Ellis, and Noelle Stevenson, Lumberjanes follows the story of Mal, Ripley, Molly, April and Jo as they spend a summer at scout camp and experience supernatural phenomena. Lumberjanes won a 2016 GLAAD Media Award and an Eisen Award in 2015.

Paper Girls from Image Comics, Giant Days from Boom! Box, and the first volume of the Archie reboot are nominated for Best New Series.

Saga writer Brian K. Vaughn heads the story for Paper Girls, with art for the graphic novel done by Cliff Chiang and Matt Wilson. Set in fall of 1988, four newspaper delivery girls discover a great mystery.

In Giant Days, Susan, Esther, and Daisy all attempt to reinvent themselves at college but “handwringing boys, ‘personal experimentation,’ influenza, mystery mold, nuchauvinism, and the willful, unwanted intrusion of ‘academia,’” get in the way.

Written by Mark Waid and illustrated by Fiona Staples, the new Archie series takes a creative look at Archie’s origin story while still capturing the humor and bite of the original run.

Marvel’s The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl was nominated for Best Continuing or Limited Series. It was originally published in January 2015 and rebooted in October of the same year. Both the initial and reboot series are written by Ryan North with art by Erica Henderson. Doreen Green has the proportional strength and speed of a squirrel, as well as the ability to communicate with them. She fights villains such as Kraven the Hunter, Whiplash, and Galactus.

G. Willow Wilson, the writer of Ms. Marvel, is up for Best Writer. Ms. Marvel is the story of Kamala Khan, Marvel’s first Muslim superhero. Wilson’s work is no stranger to acclaim, as the first volume of the series won the 2015 Hugo Award for Best Graphic Story.

The awards will be presented on September 3 in Baltimore, MD, during Baltimore Comic Con. Final ballots are due by Monday, August 8. For more information of the 2016 Harvey Awards and a full list of all nominations, you can visit the Harvey Awards website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Lauren Byrnes

Lauren is a college student working towards a degree in history and education. She writes a little and reads a lot. In addition to the YA world, her interests include historical nonfiction, showtunes, coffee, gender studies, and red lipstick.

Comments are closed.