Whitney Awards announce 2015 finalists; includes INK AND ASHES, THIS MONSTROUS THING


this monstrous thing mackenzi leeThe Whitney Awards announced their 2015 finalists, including the finalists for its young adult fiction category and its speculative young adult fiction category. The Whitney Awards honor the best novels written by LDS, or Mormon, authors.

The finalists for the general young adult fiction category are Calvin by Martine Leavitt, Never Said by Carol Lynch Williams, The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West, Has To Be Love by Jolene Perry, and Ink and Ashes  by Valynne E. Maetani.

The finalists for the speculative young adult fiction category are Firefight by Brandon Sanderson, Followed by Frost by Charlie N. Holmberg, This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee, Airships of Camelot by Robison Wells, and A Thousand Faces by Janci Patterson.

Mackenzi Lee’s This Monstrous Thing and Valynne E. Maetani’s Ink and Ashes also made the list of finalists for best novel by a new author.

Sponsored by LDStorymakers, the authors guild for the LDS market, the winners will be announced in a ceremony on May 7th in Utah. For more on the Whitney Awards, visit their website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.