2015 Aurealis Awards announce winners


illuminae amie kaufman jay kristoffThe 2015 Aurealis Awards announced their 2015 winners. Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s Illuminae took home the prize for best science fiction novel. Told through found documents, Illuminae follows exes Kady and Ezra, who find themselves working together when their planet gets invaded. They’re forced onto two separate spaceships, whose crews are hiding secrets from those on board – secrets they’re determined to uncover.

In The Skin of a Monster by Kathryn Barker won best YA novel. Alice’s twin sister murdered seven innocent kids. Alice struggles every day to wear the same face as a killer, and when she encounters her sister on a deserted highway, she realizes something worse has unfolded: that she’s trapped in a dream world with the nightmares of everyone in the community.

In addition to the full-length works, the Aurealis committee awarded prizes for shorter fiction. “The Miseducation of Mara Lys” by Deborah Kali took home the prize for best young adult short story as well as the prize for best horror novella. “By Frogsled and Lizardback to Outcast Venusian Lepers” by Sabriel author Garth Nix won best science fiction novella.

Nix also won best collection for To Hold the Bridge. In To Hold The Bridge, the Bridge Company takes only the most skillful Charter mages, for the night might come when only a single young cadet must hold the bridge against many foes. Will Morghan be that cadet?

The Aurealis Awards acknowledge the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

Which of the winners is your favorite? Sound off in the comments below!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.