2015 Aurealis Awards announce finalists; include ILLUMINAE, THE DARK DAYS CLUB


illuminae amie kaufman jay kristoffThe Western Australian Science Fiction Foundation announced the finalists for the 2015 Aurealis Awards. The Aurealis Awards acknowledge the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers.

Nominees for the best young adult novel are Kathryn Barker’s In The Skin of a Monster, Alison Goodman’s Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club, Francesca Haig’s The Fire Sermon, Trent Jamieson’s Day Boy, Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff’s Illuminae, and Skye Melki-Wagner’s The Hush.

In The Skin of a Monster, Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club and Day Boy also made the shortlist for best fantasy novel. Illuminae made the shortlist for best science fiction novel, as did Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner’s Their Fractured Light.

The nominees for best young adult short story are “In Sheep’s Clothing” by Kimberly Gaal, “The Nexus Tree” by Kimberly Gaal, “The Mieseducation of Mara Lys” by Deborah Kalin, “The Heart of the Labyrinth” by DK Mok, “Blueblood” by Faith Mudge, and the novella Welcome to Orphancorp by Marlee Jane Ward.

“The Miseducation of Mara Lys” is also nominated for best horror novella, as is Slasher Girls and Monster Boys‘s “Sleepless” by Jay Kristoff.

Garth Nix’s To Hold the Bridge is one of the nominees for best collection. Nominees for the Sara Douglass Book Series award include Melina Marchetta’s The Lumatere Chronicles.

Winners will be announced on March 25 at a ceremony in Brisbane. Last year, Cracks in the Kingdom took home the best YA award.

Who do you think should win for best YA novel? Sound off in the comments below!

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.