2014 Aurealis Award finalists announced


afterworlds scott westerfeldThe 2014 Aurealis Award finalists, which acknowledge the achievements of Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror writers, were announced on February 27th.

The finalists for the best young adult novel are Rebecca Lim’s The Astrologer’s Daughter, Jaclyn Moriarty’s The Cracks in the Kingdom, Garth Nix’s Clariel, Nova Weetman’s The Haunting of Lily Frost and Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds.

Scott Westerfeld’s YA Afterworlds is also a finalist for the best fantasy novel. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner, the second in their YA Starbound trilogy, is a finalist for best fantasy novel and best science-fiction novel.

The finalists for best young adult short story are Goldie Alexander’s “In Hades,” Liz Argall’s “Falling Leaves,” David Cornish’s “The Fuller and the Bogle,” Dirk Flinthart’s “Vanilla,” and Faith Mudge’s “Signature.”

For more, visit the Aurealis Award website.

Join our YA newsletter:

No spam guarantee.


About Author

Nicole Brinkley

Nicole is the editor of YA Interrobang. She has short hair and loves dragons. The rest changes without notice. Follow her on Twitter at @nebrinkley or Tumblr at nebrinkley. Like her work? Leave her a tip.

Comments are closed.